Loading Events

Mendelssohn’s “Italian”

Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts

190 South Cascade Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80903 United States View on Map

Season Presented By:

Series Presented By:


Jessie Montgomery Starburst

Haydn Sinfonia Concertante

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4 “Italian”

About The Performance

Mendelssohn’s “Italian” Symphony is a musical postcard capturing Mediterranean sunshine, monumental art and architecture, and the beauty of the countryside. He referred to the work as “Blue Sky in A major,” and created an orchestral landscape where audiences can imagine their own characters and stories – a travelogue of Italy, from your seat at the Pikes Peak Center!

Also on the program, Haydn blends the virtuosity of four solo instruments with elegance and intensity in his Sinfonia Concertante. This “concerto within a symphony” features musicians of the Philharmonic in a musical give and take between soloists and orchestra – peaceful, vivacious, and a glorious testament to Haydn’s brilliance.