Loading Events

Schumann’s “Spring”

Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts

190 South Cascade Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80903 United States View on Map

Season Presented By:

Series Presented By:


Florence Price Adoration

Saint-Saens Cello Concerto No. 1

Robert Schumann Symphony No. 1 “Spring”

About The Performance

As winter’s end approaches, there comes the inevitable desire for the first bloom of Spring. Schumann’s First Symphony expresses this longing with an orchestral awakening. Opening with an unforgettable brass fanfare that harkens the beginning of Spring, this work is jubilant and celebratory, lyrical and triumphant, breathing and pulsing with the joyous anticipation of Spring.

Colorado Springs’ favorite, Jan Vogler, returns to the Philharmonic performing Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto No. 1 – considered one of the greatest works in the cello repertoire. “Vogler’s intense and febrile sound is restrained by classical discipline and enriched by a searching musical intelligence.” New Yorker